Nutrition_TVH

Bariatric nutrition classes are specifically designed for patients having weight-loss surgery at Northwest Texas Healthcare System. Most insurance, Medicare or Medicaid plans require patients to go through nutrition education prior to having any surgical weight loss procedure. Typically, patients must attend one class per month for approximately three to six months, as weight-reduction class content changes each month.

Location: Community Lecture Room at Northwest Texas Healthcare System
Dates: Offered every first and third Tuesday of each month
Time: The series of supervised weight-loss classes are at 3 p.m., and the final preoperative class is at 5:30 p.m.

All classes are taught by a registered dietitian, who discusses topics to assist both with weight reduction prior to surgery and diet advancement following surgery.

Patients must complete the required supervised weight loss classes before they are scheduled for the final preoperative class, which takes place before their surgery date. Patients are welcome to bring one family member or significant other to any of the classes they attend.

For questions or additional information, please call Stephanie O'Brien at 354-1985 or Renee Payne at 354-1718.

NOTE: This class is only for patients who have received a physician referral. Patients receive the referral from their surgeon, who then contacts NWTHS to inform them a new patient will be attending the class.

Event Dates:
Tuesday, August 21, 2018, 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday, September 4, 2018, 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday, September 18, 2018, 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday, October 2, 2018, 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday, October 16, 2018, 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday, November 6, 2018, 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday, November 20, 2018, 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday, December 4, 2018, 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday, December 18, 2018, 3:00 p.m.
Tuesday, January 1, 2019, 3:00 p.m.