Lead Trauma Facility for the Texas Panhandle

Northwest Texas Healthcare System
1501 South Coulter Street
Amarillo, TX 79106
Phone: 806-354-1000


The Texas Department of State Health Services has designated Northwest Texas Healthcare System as the Lead Trauma Facility for the top 26 counties within the Texas Panhandle. Northwest Texas Healthcare, a Level III Trauma facility, cares for more than 57,000 patients each year in its emergency department. Healthcare staff provide emergency care and stabilization of the injured patient, which may include transfer to a higher level trauma center, if necessary.

Don’t wait! If you’re having a medical emergency go to the nearest emergency room or call 9-1-1.

Northwest Emergency on Georgia — Now Open!

Our newest freestanding emergency department is now open! Northwest Emergency on Georgia features a convenient location for Southeastern Amarillo and provides 24/7 emergency care.

Learn more

ER Reserve

ER Reserve lets you request a time (up to 12 hours in advance) at Northwest Emergency on Georgia or Northwest Emergency at Town Square for non-life-threatening injuries or illnesses such as:

  • Flu
  • Sore throat
  • Earache
  • Cough or cold
  • Muscle strains and sprains

reserve visit

Trauma Center

Northwest Texas Healthcare System is the leading trauma center for the Panhandle.

Emergency Air Transport

Northwest Texas Healthcare provides two air medical transport services: LIFESTAR I and LIFESTAR II. These services provide specialized emergency care for adult, pediatric, neonatal and high-risk pregnancy patients. LIFESTAR is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Medical Transport Systems (CAMTS), a group of non-profit organizations that audits and accredits air medical transport services in the US and countries abroad. Accreditation standards set by CAMTS determine whether an air ambulance program treats safety and patient care with the most priority. We encourage our patients to join AirMedCare, a network of CAMTS air medical providers.

Patient Story: Keith Bandy

Keith Bandy was airlifted to Northwest Texas Healthcare System after he was in a serious dirt bike accident. Doctors told him he was going to need spinal surgery.

Patient Story: Bonnie Burnett

Bonnie Burnett thought she had a regular virus, but when the speech began to slur and her feet became numb, she turned to the Northwest ER at Town Square for help.

Trauma Team Collaborates with Outside Facilities

Our trauma program includes:

  • A trauma team that responds to the critically injured trauma patient upon arrival at Northwest Texas Healthcare System.
  • Surgeons credentialed in trauma care in-house 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
  • Emergency medicine physicians credentialed in trauma care are present in the Emergency Department 24 hours a day, seven days a week.
  • RNs specially trained in trauma care in the ED, ICU, OR, PICU, helicopter and medical-surgical areas.
  • Nurses and paramedics specially trained in trauma care and air EMS.
  • A communications system that provides for pre-arrival notification of the trauma team for the trauma patient.
  • Continuous evaluation and improvement of the quality of care delivered to the trauma patient from the point of injury through rehab.
  • Injury prevention and community awareness activities.
  • Ongoing trauma education for physicians, nurses and pre-hospital personnel throughout the service area.
  • Collaboration with other facilities and EMS agencies throughout the region to triage injured patients to the most appropriate facility.
  • Sexual Assault Nurse Examiners (SANE), who are specially trained to provide care for victims of sexual assault. The team works with law enforcement to collect and document forensic evidence and provides follow-up care to victims.

Critical Care Unit

The Critical Care Unit at Northwest Texas Healthcare System includes a 22-bed Surgical Intensive Care Unit and a 22-bed Medical Intensive Care Unit.

Northwest Emergency on Georgia — Satellite Emergency Department

Learn More

Northwest Emergency at Town Square — Satellite Emergency Department

Learn More

Walk-In Care — Urgent care for less serious issues

Learn more